Climbing Back Up

” I have back slid in my relationship with this girl. I know I let God down and now I’m just feeling the pain from my actions. I’d say it’s some well deserved discipline.” ~Anonymous  friend

“Well sir, today is a new day. Don’t let yesterdays sins carry over to today’s outlook. I know what you mean though, spirituality takes time to build… it’s like climbing a mountain for a few days and suddenly you accidentally fall of an edge, you can’t just jump back up where you fell off, now you have to climb all the way back up while simultaneously healing from the self-inflicted wounds.”

But something that really helps during the climb back up is remembering what God says in Isaiah 65:

17  For look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth; And the former things will not be called to mind, Nor will they come up into the heart.

I remember once I was feeling completely broken in my room, crying, I ended up sitting on my knees with my soul howling in agony up to God. As I was holding the Bible, I fell to my knees and the bible opened up and God directed me to two scriptures. I felt a strong emphasis on this verse and the impression in my heart that I needed to put the sins I had recently committed behind me… as it says in the verse ” and the former things will not be called to mind, nor will they come up into the heart”.

Remember this, some people will always say, well you have to look at the context in which God was speaking and who he was speaking to, and so on and so on. What I know is this, with God all things are possible. And he may of been speaking to a person at that time and it may of not mean the exact same thing as when God used it to speak to me, and that’s okay. God is resourceful. With God all things are possible. That’s why it is called the Living Bible. He takes one verse and it breathes life. You know he is alive. You know he is listening. He will use it to instruct you on the path that your on, and personalize it just for you, so that you receive the meaning you need to derive from it. And to another person a different meaning they need to receive utilizing the same exact scripture! That’s the beauty of God. May this help those who are climbing back up. But then again, aren’t we all climbing back up.

~ Your brother in Christ

Leave a Reply

