Baby Christians

God is working on me: I thought I had all the love in the world for him. I felt I did. I thought of someone the other day as a baby Christian because thier lack of knowing the word, or being able to recite the word. Today, I feel like a baby Christian. Why? What good does knowing the Word do, if we are only partially applying it? Does that not show we are only partially committed to God? Tough words indeed. But because I’ve asked God for understanding in a particular matter, and now that he has heard my prayer and provided that understanding, what shall I do now? Simply discard it as useless information and throw it in his face by failing to live in accordance with it? That’s precisely what I was doing. Someone may say well who can possibly keep and stay obedient to the requirements given to him? I say this because we ALL are at different levels of spirituality. As your knowledge increases, so does your responsibility to adhere to the blessing of understanding given to you. And yes we all fall, and all fail, however to continue indulging in a sinful practice of what you already understand is wrong in the eyes of the Lord, is to test his patience and to test his might.

For those that understand the fear of the Lord, we understand that yes he is full of patience and mericfulness, but he is also full of strength and power; and he will cast down judgement.

Examine what 1 corinthians chapter 4 verse 20 says:

” For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power. 21 What do you prefer? Shall I come to you with a rod of discipline, or shall I come in love and with a gentle spirit?”

Here is one more that is imperative to understand 2 Peter 2:20

[funny observation as I was posting this and writing I noticed both these scriptures are verse 20, not that that means anything, but I’d like to think so]

“Certainly if, after having escaped from the defilements of the world by an accurate knowledge of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, they get involved again with these very things and are overcome, the final conditions have become worse for them than the first.21For it would have been better for them not to have accurately known the path of righteousness than after knowing it accurately to turn away from the holy commandment delivered to them.22The saying of the true proverb has happened to them: “The dog has returned to its own vomit, and the sow that was bathed to rolling in the mire.”

I don’t know about you but I’m deathly tired of persecuting myself like the old adage says “he shot himself in the foot”.

Leave a Reply

